News Ticker

Finally, I Start My Journey to Learn Vim

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيمِ

In the name of Allah, the Most Beneficient, the Most Merciful

Truth be told, I am not an expert or seasonal active programmer. I am just a not-so-new newbie that want to learn how to code better. But somehow I realize that mastering a good text editor will be one of the huges investment that I have to do at some point. So I decided to do some researches to find the right candidate to receive the time “investment” from me. And in the end my research narrowed down to 2 candidate: vim and emacs.

From what I read on the net,  Emacs and Vim are the two undisputed heavy weight champion of the Text Editor world. Comparing these things will just like igniting a religion war, just exactly the same case as comparing Nikon vs Canon. But I just like the idea of doing all of the text editing things without using the mouse at all better (the one that vim offered). So here I am now, sitting in front of my Computer to learn Vim using Swaroop’s book of “A Byte of Vim”. And for those of you who are interested, you can get this book for free at:

http://swaroopch.com/notes/vim/

So far the book is easy to read and implement. It is a good book for a noob like me. I am not finished yet reading this book (just touch page 21 of 89). But I will make a review about this book later after I finished this book.🙂

About wahidyankf (178 Articles)
Computer Engineer. His life-motto is "Learning, Dreaming, and Enjoying life".

Leave a Reply

