News Ticker

Dev Note – 20170412 – The Beginning

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيمِ

In the name of Allah, the Most Beneficient, the Most Merciful

Intro

Hi all, this is the beginning of my Dev Note article series. So, what is Dev Note? Dev Note is an abbreviation of developer’s note, and I write it in order to share my experience about programming or techie stuffs. Why? Because I realize from my experience on software development so far, that there are a lot of things that I wish I knew before. Something like “should I use vim (that very capable but has a steep learning curve)?” or “should I learn this framework or that framework?” and so on. So here I am, trying to share my little notes to you. Hoping that you might find anything useful from it.

Who I am

I am a new aspire-to-be javascript developer who try to learn about javascript. My experience with programming goes back when I studied in my bachelor. I was writing my bachelor’s thesis using PHP and MySQL, two of the programming language and database system that I now unfortunately forget. But now I begin to learn programming again properly, starting with javascript and frontend web development’s stuff.

The Dev Note’s Rule

From my experience, writing is a unique activity. The initial energy needed to start it is so high, that the article never even started to be written. But I always knew from the deep of my heart that writing is always fun when I already start it. So for this series, I will open up my text editor, pick up a kitchen timer every time and set its alarm for 30 minutes, everytime I want to start the writing process. Then I will start writing and will only writing during that 30 minutes. After that, I take a short break and publish it to my blog. This way, I will void my lame excuses that I don’t have enough time to write, and as a bonus, I will avoid being burned out that is caused by excessive writing duration (cause I tend to forget the notion of time when I write).

Besides the “time window” rule above, I also limit the topics of an article to 3 topics maximum. This way I will make this article into a small 3-5 minutes reading duration article.

Bonus Free eBook

As a bonus to this first article, I will give you ~~free ebook!~~ a link to free ebook about redux. I was told by my friend that there is a free ebook about redux by Ilya Gelman. You can grab it (until 14 April 2017) here. Enjoy!

About wahidyankf (186 Articles)
JavaScript Developer. His life-motto is "Learning, Dreaming, and Enjoying life".

Leave a Reply

