News Ticker

Dev Note – 20170417 – Learn Programming with egghead.io

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيمِ

In the name of Allah, the Most Beneficient, the Most Merciful

In my last post I wrote about resources to learn programming online. Now I want to share another resource that might be useful: egghead.io. One of my friends recommend me this one, and as a disclaimer, I never watch a full playlist in this web (cause we have to go “pro” subscription to watch the full videos). From my first impression so far, I can say that there are several things that I like from this site:

  1. There are a lot of courses that are very specific and designed to keep us up to date with the current tech (e.g. react, angular, elm, even vim!). And just for the record, the courses is mainly about Front-End Web Development.

  2. The videos are served in biteable chunks. And I like it. I have read a research somewhere that the optimal length of a video for online learning is less than 10 minutes. This length ensure us that the viewer will not lose focus and not drown in informations.

But I have to say that this egghead might not be suitable for a beginner. Why? Because:

  1. You will have to decide which course to watch first. There are no clear path, course requirement, or even difficulty rating in this site, thus you have to pick what you want to watch really carefuly. This is certainly not a problem for intermediate developers and above, but this might become a problem for those who just get started.

  2. As far as I know, there really is not beginner course in this site. You need to have at least basic understanding of a working HTML, CSS, and JS.

So my conclusion is that this is a good (even great) site. But you will need to have good fundamental knowledges about web development before you dive into this site, otherwise, you might find a bumpy road ahead. And I found that this web is best treated like a cook book, as in we go to the specific part that we need, and learn from it. All in all, I Recommend this website for those who want to learn (Front-End) web development in more details.

About wahidyankf (186 Articles)
JavaScript Developer. His life-motto is "Learning, Dreaming, and Enjoying life".

Leave a Reply

